How would you describe your studio practice?

I enjoy working on multiple projects at once on days I am in the studio. I usually work through a process where I could go from painting and applying mediums and then switch gears to writing ideas or doing preliminary sketches for other work and unrelated projects. I find it is a good way to keep myself from overworking or over-thinking a specific piece and it also helps me to sustain a constructive process in regards to my work.

What inspires you to make the work that you make?

I am continuously inspired by many different aspects of historical popular culture, specifically films and photographs of the horror and film noir genre. Music has always inspired me to create art and it is an especially valuable resource for my work for musicians and bands. When I am creating for musicians my intention is for the work to be reflective of their specific musical style and to also be complimentary to the lyrical content of their music. I find working this way to be very unique and rewarding because I always have constant creative input to derive inspiration from.

How would you describe the physical nature of your artwork?

I love utilizing mixed media in my work, most recently I have been working with painting with watercolors and acrylic on different kinds of papers. I really like the outcome and effects I am seeing when I use this method. It creates an interesting visual texture within my work that allows me to be both controlled and random in my execution. My work varies in scale, but I avoid working in a small format, it just seems really constricting for the type of work I do.

Do you have any friends in Vancouver who are artists that you talk to about your ideas/work on a regular basis?

I speak with Rebecca Chaperon in my studio building quite frequently and speak to a lot of my musician friends who come by for studio visits and meetings. Their feedback and input really helps me during the artistic process.

What recent work are you the most happy with?

I have been quite happy with the contract work I have been doing most recently with musicians. I recently finished the design for a CD layout and really enjoyed the process of taking something I had painted on canvas and converting it into a digital media to create something completely new and unique. I also have been enjoying just experimenting and exploring creating mixed media drawings in water color, acrylic, ink and pencil on paper. These are part of a continuous series I have been working on in recent months and will continue to work on in 2011.

www.alisonlilly.com

http://alisonlilly.blogspot.com/

